
 
 
August 31, 2018 
 

Washington’s Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program 

Amended Reporting Year 2017 Fee Schedule 
 
 
Background 
Chapter 173-441-110 WAC establishes the procedure the Department of Ecology (Ecology) uses 
to set the reporting fee for Washington’s mandatory Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program.  The 
purpose of this letter is to inform facilities of amendments we are making to the Reporting Year 
2017 Fee Schedule we issued November 7, 2017, and to explain the reasons for those 
amendments.   
 
Ecology adopted changes to the Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program fee provisions on 
September 15, 2016.  Before the 2016 rule changes, all facilities and transportation fuel suppliers 
that were required to report or voluntarily reported their greenhouse gas emissions to Ecology 
were required to pay an annual reporting fee.  After the 2016 rule changes, only facilities were 
required to pay the fee, while transportation fuel suppliers and voluntary reporters were 
exempted from the fee.  On November 7, 2017. Ecology issued the Reporting Year 2017 Fee 
Schedule based on this new methodology. 
 
In March 2018, Thurston County Superior Court ruled that parts of the Clean Air Rule are 
invalid. The Superior Court's ruling prevents Ecology from implementing the Clean Air Rule 
regulations that cap and gradually reduce emissions of greenhouse gases from major sources of 
carbon pollution. The ruling also invalidated changes to the Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program, 
including the 2016 changes to the fee provisions. 
 
The Amended Reporting Year 2017 Fee Schedule that we are providing today conforms with the 
Superior Court’s rulings.  This fee schedule sets the annual reporting fee for each facility 
reporting its 2017 greenhouse gas emissions in 2018.  The fee is based on the fee methodology 
that existed before the 2016 rule changes. For the purposes of calculating the fees to be charged 
under this Amended 2017 Fee Schedule, Ecology did not perform a new workload analysis.  
Ecology did, however, use an updated facility count.  In addition, Ecology has determined at this 
time to exercise discretion and not charge a fee to transportation fuel suppliers. Ecology will 
absorb the costs associated with processing transportation fuel supplier reports to ensure that 
reporters’ fees are not increased. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=173-441&full=true#173-441-110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=173-441&full=true


 
Finally, Ecology’s Reporting Year 2016 Fee Schedule was also based on the rule methodology 
that has now been invalidated by the Superior Court.  Ecology is therefore providing to facilities 
that paid their Reporting Year 2016 fees a credit equal to the difference between the amount 
billed under the Reporting Year 2016 Fee Schedule (a flat fee of $2,068) and the last published 
fee before the 2016 rule update went into effect (a flat fee of $1,147) .  Facilities no longer 
required to report will receive a refund of their 2016 reporting fees.  
 
 
 
Workload analysis and budget development (unchanged from the November 7, 2017 
Reporting Year 2017 Fee Schedule)  
Statute authorizes Ecology to base the annual reporting fee on projected agency costs to 
administer fee-eligible activities related to the Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program (RCW 
70.94.151).  Ecology used a workload analysis model to project that the following activities will 
require approximately 3.3 Full Time Equivalent (FTE) positions in 2018 to implement the 2017 
reporting year program by fulfilling the following program functions: 

• Information technology maintenance and support 
• Technical assistance to reporting community 
• Data analysis 
• Collaboration with the Environmental Protection Agency and Washington Department of 

Licensing 
• Verification, compliance, and enforcement  
• Program administration 

 
Ecology used standardized agency cost estimates to project costs for salary and benefits of those 
3.3 FTE positions.  Ecology projects the total cost of administering the Greenhouse Gas 
Reporting Program for the 2017 emissions year to be $335,000. 
 
 
Facility reporting fee 
The fee for facilities reporting greenhouse gas emissions under WAC 173-441-120 after the 
March 2018 ruling is established by dividing 75% of the total cost for administering the program 
for the year1 by the number of projected facilities reporting in that year.  Ecology estimates that 
149 facilities will report 2017 emissions in Calendar Year 2018.  Therefore, the reporting fee for 
the 2017 emissions year is ($335,000 x 0.75)/149 = $1,686 per facility. 
 
Facilities that paid the Reporting Year 2016 fee will be credited as follows: 
 

$2,068 𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝𝑝 − $1,147 𝑙𝑙𝑙𝑙𝑙𝑙𝑙𝑙 𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖 𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖 𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢𝑢 𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜 𝑚𝑚𝑚𝑚𝑚𝑚ℎ𝑜𝑜𝑜𝑜 = $921 𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐 
 
The net fee charged to those facilities will therefore be  
 

$1,686 𝑓𝑓𝑓𝑓𝑓𝑓 − $921 𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐𝑐 = $765 𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑖𝑒𝑒 
 

                                                 
1 We are basing fees charged to facilities on 75% of our costs rather than 100% of our costs per the methodology 
established in the pre-2016 version of the rule. Ecology has determined at this time to exercise discretion and not 
charge the 25% fee to transportation fuel suppliers.  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.94.151
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.94.151
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=173-441&full=true#173-441-120


 
Transportation fuel supplier reporting fee 
The September 15, 2016 revisions to the rule removed the fee for transportation fuel suppliers 
reporting greenhouse gas emissions under WAC 173-441-130.  Although the March 2018 ruling 
indicates that Ecology may charge a fee to transportation fuel suppliers, Ecology is exercising its 
discretion to not charge that fee.   Therefore, the reporting fee for the 2017 emissions year 
remains $0 for transportation fuel suppliers. 
 
Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program reporting year 2017 fee schedule 
Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program fees for the 2017 reporting year are outlined in the table 
below. 
 
Reporting Category Fee 

Amount* 
Reporting Deadline Approximate Billing 

Date** 
Facilities required to report to 
both Ecology and EPA  

$1,686 April 2, 2018 August 8, 2018 

Facilities only required to report 
to Ecology  

$1,686 October 31, 2018 December 15, 2018 

Facilities that choose to 
voluntarily report emissions and 
transportation fuel suppliers 

$0 October 31, 2018 NA 

 * If a reporter has multiple facilities, then it must pay a separate fee for each facility that reports. 
** Approximate billing dates are an estimate only and subject to change.  Fees must be paid within 60 days of 
receipt of the billing statement.  A late fee surcharge of 10% will be applied to any fee received more than 90 days 
past the due date.  
 
More information 
More information about the Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program, including fees, who is required 
to report, and other information is available on Ecology’s website or by contacting Neil Caudill 
at 360-407-6811 or ghgreporting@ecy.wa.gov.  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=173-441&full=true#173-441-130
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/permit_register/ghg/ghg.html
mailto:ghgreporting@ecy.wa.gov
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