Hide Alert

Welcome to our new website. Learn more about what's new.

Grant assistance for local governments

Solicitation period for local government grant assistance opens Feb. 5

If you’re a local government, you may be eligible for grant assistance from Ecology to clean up contaminated sites in your community. We beginning to plan our 2019-21 cleanup budget. As part of this process, every two years we solicit local governments’ financing needs to clean up their contaminated sites. We’ll use this information to prepare the 2018 Model Toxics Control Act (MTCA) Accounts Ten-Year Financing Report and Ecology’s 2019–21 capital budget request.
 
We expect the solicitation period for these grants to begin Monday, February 5, 2018. If you’d like your site(s) to be considered for grant funding and be included in the MTCA Ten-Year Financing Report to the Legislature, we must receive your responses by close of business Friday, March 2, 2018
 
For the first time, jurisdictions will submit their solicitation responses through Ecology’s Administration of Grants and Loans (EAGL). EAGL provides a streamlined process and transparency for both recipients and Ecology staff. To use EAGL, you need to set up a Secure Access Washington (SAW) account.
 
IMPORTANT: If your jurisdiction does not have a SAW account and anticipates responding to the solicitation, please begin the SAW process now.
 
Local governments that were included in the 2016 MTCA Accounts Ten-Year Financing Report will be contacted by email by Monday, February 5, 2018 notifying them of the solicitation. We’ll also include direction and guidance about gaining SAW access. If your local government was not included in the 2016 report, but anticipates needing cleanup site funding over the next ten years, you can still apply.

If you have questions about site(s) in your jurisdiction, please contact your regional Section Manager: 

Central Regional Office
Valerie Bound                   
Valerie.Bound@ecy.wa.gov or 509-454-7886
 
Headquarters Cleanup
Barry Rogowski
Barry.Rogowski@ecy.wa.gov or 360-407-7226
 
Eastern Regional Office
Kathy Falconer
Kathy.Falconer@ecy.wa.gov or 509-329-3568
 
Northwest Regional Office
Bob Warren                                                                                                                
Bob.Warren@ecy.wa.gov or 425-649-7054
 
Southwest Regional Office
Rebecca Lawson
Rebecca.Lawson@ecy.wa.gov or 360-407-6241
 
If you have SAW & EAGL system questions, please contact:
Matt Alexander, Ecology                                                                                                              
Matthew.Alexander@ecy.wa.gov  or 360-407-7606       

Lydia Lindwall, Ecology
Lydia.Lindwall@ecy.wa.gov or 360-407-6210