Governor proclaims 30-day delay to statewide plastic bag ban
On Dec. 18, 2020, Gov. Jay Inslee issued a 30-day proclamation to postpone Washington’s statewide plastic bag ban as written in Chapter 70a.530 RCW. The proclamation becomes effective on Dec. 31, 2020, and expires on Jan. 30, 2021.
Plastic bag ban
Responding to growing plastic bag pollution, the Legislature in 2020 passed a statewide ban on single-use plastic bags.
This new law bans single-use plastic bags to reduce marine plastic pollution, litter, and waste. The law will:
- Reduce contamination in commingled recycling and compost systems.
- Promote reuse and recycled content.
- Build consistency in policy and enforcement across the state.
- Support the recycled paper manufacturing industry.
We are currently collaborating on outreach materials with local governments, retailers, associations, and NGOs. We will offer technical assistance, customizable education, and outreach material to businesses working to educate customers and comply with the ban.
You'll also be able to submit a report, starting in 2021, if you observe a business still using prohibited bags. We will use this information to help businesses follow the state's plastic bag ban.
Will the bag ban be delayed due to COVID-19?
We do not have the authority to delay the start of the bag ban, however Gov. Jay Inslee has proclaimed a 30-day delay to the statewide plastic bag ban as written in RCW 70a.530. The proclamation became effective on Dec. 31, 2020, and expires on Jan. 30, 2021. The ban was previously scheduled to become effective on Jan. 1, 2021. The 30-day postponement will allow time for the State Legislature through HB 1053 - 2021-22 to amend the law to become effective June 30, 2021. Because of these new developments, any date listed below will change. We will update this information as it becomes available.
When we do begin implementation, the safety and health of Washingtonians will remain Ecology’s number one priority and we will continue to follow the advice of health and safety experts as we work with businesses to comply with the new law.
Studies show COVID-19 is not likely to be spread by surface transmission at all.
Early in the pandemic, claims circulated that single-use plastics, like plastic bags, were safer than reusable items. However, studies and guidance from the Centers for Disease Control, the Washington Department of Health, and other medical researchers do not support this claim. They indicate COVID-19 is not more likely to be spread on surfaces like reusable bags than on plastic bags.
To be safe, many businesses in the 39 Washington cities and counties that already have plastic bag bans have suspended their bans and stopped allowing customers to bring their own reusable bags until more information became available. Some businesses have retained this policy and others have returned to allowing customers to use their reusable shopping bags.
However, when the statewide bag ban begins, stores will be required to allow customers to bring in reusable bags to comply with the statewide law. Businesses may also require customers to bag their own groceries in these bags, if they choose.
Take common sense measures like washing you reusable bags after use, and sanitizing your hands and bags.
What about potential supply shortages of post-consumer recycled content paper and 2.25 mil plastic bags?
There have been documented instances of supply and distribution issues for the allowable 8-cent bags, likely associated with business and resource effects of the pandemic.
Citing these concerns, representatives of several grocery associations submitted a request to the legislature requesting a delay in the ban until June of 2021. A bill reflecting this request has been prefiled with the legislature.
The Legislature may address this request issue when it returns on Jan. 11, 2021.
When we do begin implementation of the bag ban, for the first few months we'll focus on outreach and education. We and our local government partners will work with business owners to help them comply.