Department of Ecology News Release - January 7, 2016

Burn bans continue in Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas and Okanogan counties, added to Klickitat County


Air quality conditions have not improved across much of Central Washington, prompting the Department of Ecology to extend and expand burn bans for five counties.

Stage 1 burn bans are being extended in Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas and Okanogan counties. In addition, a stage 1 burn ban begins at 4 p.m. today (Jan. 7) for Klickitat County. Currently, stagnant air persists due to light winds and strong temperature inversions.

The burn bans will continue at least through 10 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 12, for these counties. Bans could be called off or extended at that time.

Under a Stage 1 ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts, and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat. Certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices are allowed.

Call 866-211-6284 if you think someone is illegally burning or you are impacted by smoke.

Up-to-date burn ban information is available at

Ecology’s burn bans do not apply on tribal reservations, where the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has jurisdiction. Call 800-424-4372 for tribal burn ban information or visit EPA’s Washington Burn Ban page on their website.

Contact information

Joye Redfield-Wilder
Communications manager