Agricultural Burning & Research Task Force

We lead the Agricultural Burning and Research Task Force that is comprised of a broad array of interest groups. The task force develops best practices for reducing air pollution from agricultural burning. They meet regularly to develop the practices by identifying and funding research projects. The group also determines the appropriate level for Ecology's agricultural burning air permit fees.

Task force members

The Agricultural Burning and Research Task Force is chaired by an Ecology representative and consists of many different interest groups including:

The task force was established by the Washington Clean Air Act with the goal of reducing air pollution from agricultural burning.

Members of the task force are:

Representative Organization Seat
Dave Knight Ecology Chair
Rob Rodger Benton Clean Air Agency Local air agency
Mike Buckley Alfalfa Seed Growers Agricultural community
Jay Penner Washington Association of Wheat Growers Agricultural community
Dan McCarthy Okanogan Horticulture Association Agricultural community
Bill Johnston WSU Crop & Soil Science Universities or colleges
Karen Lewis WSU Tree Fruit Extension Universities or colleges
Scott Steinbacher Washington Department of Agriculture Agriculture agency
Chris Skidmore Whitman County Public Health Public health
Larry Cochran Washington Conservation Commission Conservation district

Meeting information

View meeting summaries and the date and location of the next Agricultural Burning & Research Task Force meeting.