Agricultural burning can be an important part of your business, and we want to help you do it safely and legally. We issue burn permits to agricultural operations. Be sure that burning is the best method for your land and consider alternatives to burning.
If burning is still your best method, obtain a permit under "Permit applications" below.
Once you have received your agricultural burn permit, follow these instructions before burning:
Your farm is an agricultural operation if you used the most recent year’s IRS Schedule F, or its corporate equivalent, for commercial agriculture. See Washington's agriculture burning law for more information.
Almost all agricultural burning requires a permit. If you live in a county that has a clean air agency, contact them directly about agricultural burn permits.
Don't allow the smoke to impact others. Contact your local fire department before starting a fire.
You can get a permit from us or some conservation districts. If you live in a county that has a clean air agency, contact them for instructions. All Washington counties and their permitting authorities are listed below.
Tribal land is under the jurisdiction of tribal government, with technical assistance from EPA.
Who to contact
Adams Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Asotin Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Ecology / CRO
Contact Southwest Clean Air Agency
Contact Olympic Regional Clean Air Agency
Columbia Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Ecology / ERO
Franklin Conservation District
Pomeroy Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Grant Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Contact Northwest Clean Air Agency
Contact Puget Sound Clean Air Agency
Lincoln Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Ecology / Northwest Regional Office
Contact Spokane Regional Clean Air Agency
Walla Walla Conservation District or Ecology/ERO
Palouse Conservation District
Palouse Rock Lake Conservation District
Pine Creek Conservation District
Whitman Conservation District
Contact Yakima Regional Clean Air Agency
Contact the tribal government or EPA Region 10
Print, complete, and sign the application for the type of burning you need. The application provides complete instructions for obtaining your permit.
$37.50 first 10 acres
$3.75 for each additional acre
$37.50 for 10 acres or less
$80 for first 80 tons
$1.00 for each additional ton
Check the maps to see burn zone boundaries:
Baled residue permits are used for burning broken, mildewed, diseased, or pest-ridden bales from 10 acres or less, or a maximum equivalent of 2 tons per acre. This permit cannot be used for field burning or spot burning.
Conservation Reserve Program permits are used for burning on farmland that is being preserved for wildlife habitat (supplemental application).
Field permits are used for burning crop residue and cereal grain stubble (wheat, barley, corn, and oats) after harvest to reduce excess plant material.
Pile permits are used for burning piled up agricultural vegetation, including orchard tear-out, on land that is going to stay in agriculture. It is also for a documented pest emergency.
Spot permits are used for burning areas that are 1/2 acre or less, up to a total of 10 acres per year, such as:
This is an example of field burning. While the smoke is dense, it is lifting up and out of the area and is not impacting neighbors.
Eastern Regional Office
Central Regional Office