Report an environmental issue

We respond to incidents that pollute and damage land, air, and water. You can help protect the environment by immediately telling us if you see a problem that is causing pollution. The sooner we know, the sooner we can take action.


What to report

  • Report a spill to water immediately. Call 1-800-OILS-911 (1-800-645-7911).
  • Please report all emergencies, including spills in water, by phone.
  • Citizens and businesses are encouraged to report anything that may be polluting land, air, or water. When in doubt, call us.

Problem sources we want to know about include:

  • Spilled oil or other hazardous material
  • Smoke caused by non-permitted burning
  • Illegal dumping
  • Illegal water use
  • Polluted, oily, or murky water (high turbidity)

Be ready with as much of the following information as possible:

  • What is the problem?
  • Where is the problem?
  • What kind of material is involved?
  • How much is there?
  • Who is responsible for the material?

Contact our regional offices

Report other spills and environmental problems by web form, email or phone

If you see pollution or an environmental problem, you can report it via web form, email or phone. Our Environmental Report Tracking System (ERTS) staff will follow up.
  • Contact the Ecology regional office in the county where the problem is located.
  • Call any time, 24 hours a day.
  • If you are asked to leave a message, please do so and someone will call you back soon.
  • You may request that your personal information remain confidential.
Southwest Regional Office

Southwest Regional Office

Counties: Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Mason, Lewis, Pacific, Pierce, Skamania, Thurston, and Wahkiakum

Online: Southwest region reporting form
Phone: 360-407-6300

Northwest Regional Office

Northwest Regional Office

Counties: Island, King, Kitsap, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom

Online: Northwest region reporting form
Phone: 425-649-7000

Central Regional Office

Central Regional Office

Counties: Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan, and Yakima

Online: Central region reporting form

Eastern Regional Office

Eastern Regional Office

Counties: Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, and Whitman

Online: Eastern region reporting form
Phone: 509-329-3400