Department of Ecology News Release - January 4, 2016

Burn ban extended for seven eastern Washington counties


The Stage 1 burn ban in Chelan, Douglas, Ferry, Kittitas, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, and Stevens counties is being extended to 10 a.m. Thursday because stagnant air conditions could cause unhealthy air pollution.

The Washington Department of Ecology has lifted the burn ban in Asotin and Walla Walla counties because air conditions have improved.

Under a Stage 1 ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts, and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat. Certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices are allowed.

Call 866-211-6284 if you think someone is illegally burning or you are impacted by smoke. Up-to-date burn ban information is available at

Ecology’s burn bans do not apply on tribal reservations, where the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has jurisdiction. Call 800-424-4372 for tribal burn ban information or visit EPA’s Washington Burn Ban page on their website.

Contact information

Brook Beeler
Communications manager