Department of Ecology News Release - December 7, 2017

Asotin and Klickitat counties added to Stage 1 burn ban in Eastern Washington

9 counties now under burn bans


Stagnant weather conditions continue to expand and persist in Central and Eastern Washington, prompting the Washington Department of Ecology to include two more counties in the Stage 1 burn ban.

Starting at 9 a.m., Friday, Dec. 8, 2017, the burn ban will be expanded to include Asotin and Klickitat counties. The burn ban will continue in Ferry, Pend Oreille, Stevens, Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas, and Okanogan counties until further notice.

A persistence of strong, high-pressure weather is keeping air conditions stagnant, putting communities at risk for unhealthy levels of air pollution. Fine particles from wood smoke can easily get into people’s lungs causing heart and breathing problems.

Under a Stage 1 ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts, and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat. Certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices are allowed.

Call 866-211-6284 if you think someone is illegally burning or you are impacted by smoke. Up-to-date burn ban information is available at

Ecology’s burn bans do not apply on tribal reservations, where the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has jurisdiction. Call 800-424-4372 for tribal burn ban information or visit EPA’s Washington Burn Ban webpage.

Contact information

Brook Beeler
Communications manager
Joye Redfield-Wilder
Communications manager