Shoreline Master Program amendments

It is our job to review and approve Shoreline Master Programs (SMPs) for local governments. You have a right and opportunity to comment on any change — or amendment — to a local shoreline program.

Amendments to shoreline programs

Your city or county works with Ecology to write the draft amendment — and we and your local government must approve the changed regulation or policy before it takes effect.

There are three types of amendments:

  • Comprehensive
  • Periodic
  • Locally-initiated

We and the local city or county governments are required to consider input from residents, businesses, and other members of the community before approving any changes. Opportunities to comment may be organized by us, your city or county, or Ecology and local governments may offer combined opportunities.

Get involved in your local program changes

Cities and counties are required under state rule to involve the public as they change their local shoreline programs to reflect changes in law, zoning, or local conditions (WAC 173-26-100).

Our open public comment periods

We invite the public to comment on draft shoreline program changes before we approve them. Public comments are accepted during "public comment periods." It's important you provide your comments during this time period.

This page includes only public comment opportunities that are currently offered by us. Please contact your local planning department to find out about opportunities hosted by your city or county.

Comprehensive amendments open for public comment

Cities and counties across the state have been comprehensively updating their shoreline programs as required by state law (RCW 90.58.090). Some of these updates are completed while others are still underway. Each amendment stemming from a comprehensive update must comply with the requirements of the state Shoreline Management Act and related Shoreline Master Program Guidelines, including rules for gaining community input on changes.

  • Aberdeen
  • Bellevue
  • Blaine
  • Brewster
  • Cosmopolis
  • Cowlitz County
  • Dayton
  • Duvall
  • Edmonds
  • Everson
  • Ferry Coalition
  • Goldendale
  • Hoquiam
  • Ilwaco
  • Jefferson County
  • Lewis County
  • Lincoln County
  • Long Beach
  • Lynden
  • Malden
  • Montesano
  • Morton
  • Napavine
  • Odessa
  • Okanogan County
  • Omak
  • Pacific County
  • Pierce County
  • Raymond
  • Reardan
  • Rosalia
  • San Juan County
  • South Bend
  • Sumas
  • Tekoa
  • Walla Walla Coalition
  • Westport
  • White Salmon
  • Winlock
  • Yarrow Point

Periodic updates not yet open for comment

Periodic updates start in 2019. Once local governments comprehensively update their local master programs, cities and counties then must review their shoreline master programs every eight years. Cities and counties will work with us to align local shoreline regulations and policies with changes in state and federal laws, land use, and local conditions.

Opportunities for public comment will be provided.

Limited amendments open for public comment

Limited amendments include any amendment that is not a comprehensive or periodic amendment. These types of amendments are typically initiated by a city or county and only include one or two specific issues.

We and the city or county are required to gain public input on draft amendments before adopting them.

  • Bellingham Limited Amendment
  • Bremerton Limited Amendment 2016
  • King County Limited Amendment
  • Port Orchard Limited Amendment
  • Sammamish Limited Amendment
  • Tacoma Limited Amendment
  • Vancouver Limited Amendment
  • Whatcom County Limited Amendment 2016