Hide Alert

ALERT: none at this time

State agency greenhouse gas reports

Washington state leads by example in reducing carbon pollution from government facilities, fleets, and operations. We provide support and tools to help state agencies accomplish this. We also collect agency emissions data and provide a progress report to the Legislature every two years. Learn how agencies calculate and report carbon pollution.

Watch this video to learn about the state agency greenhouse gas reporting changes.

State Agency Climate Leadership Act

The State Agency Climate Leadership Act (RCW 70.235.050 and 060) requires state agencies to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. It applies to some state agencies in Washington, including colleges and universities. Agencies must reduce carbon pollution below 2005 levels:

  • 15 percent by 2020
  • 36 percent by 2035
  • 57.5 percent by 2050, or 70 percent below expected emissions that year

Changes to the reporting program

Starting wih the 2016 report, we updated the tools and requirements for state agency greenhouse gas reporting. There are newly established reporting thresholds, which means some agencies no longer need to report their emissions. Check the list to see if your agency is required to report. The new reporting deadline for the program is July 1. Watch the video to learn more about the program changes and how they will affect your reporting.

Tools for reporting your emissions

Agencies should use the tools below for calculating and reporting: To learn more about tools and changes to reporting your agency emissions, watch the video at top of this page.

Other required greenhouse gas reports

A few large state agencies are also required to report their greenhouse gases to EPA's greenhouse gas program and Ecology's statewide mandatory greenhouse gas reporting program.