Washington is dedicated to reducing greenhouse gas emissions to help slow the impacts of climate change. State agencies are joining the effort. With direction from the Legislature, state agencies are working with us to monitor and reduce their emissions.
State Agency Climate Leadership Act
The State Agency Climate Leadership Act (RCW 70.235.050 and 060) requires state agencies to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. It applies to some state agencies in Washington, including colleges and universities. Agencies must reduce carbon pollution below 2005 levels:
- 15 percent by 2020.
- 36 percent by 2035.
- 57.5 percent by 2050, or 70 percent below expected emissions that year.
Reports to the Governor and the Legislature
The Legislature recognized the need to address the threat climate change poses to our state and, in 2008, established statewide limits on greenhouse gases. As part of the response to climate change, the Legislature required state agencies to reduce their greenhouse emissions (GHG) and report on their progress every two years. Read the State Agency Greenhouse Gas Reports to the Legislature:
Changes to the reporting program
Starting with the 2016 report, we updated the tools and requirements for state agency greenhouse gas reporting. There are new reporting thresholds, which means some agencies no longer need to report their emissions. Check the list to see if your agency is required to report. The new reporting deadline is July 1, 2019.
Tools for reporting your emissions
Agencies should use the tools below for calculating and reporting:
Other required greenhouse gas reports
Some agencies emit larger amounts of greenhouse gases and have additional reporting requirements to EPA and us. Visit EPA's greenhouse gas program to determine if your agency is required to report under federal requirements and visit our facilities greenhouse gas reporting page to check for additional state reporting requirements.