Ecology Youth Corps

For over 40 years, the Ecology Youth Corps has hired Washington teens and young adults to pick up litter on our state's roads and highways. Our crews pick up more than a million pounds of litter each year, and recycle just under 200,000 pounds of materials. Learn more about this program, including how to apply for one of our 300 annual positions.

Ecology Youth Corps, EYC, Youth Corps, ecology youth corps, youth corp


Jobs with the Ecology Youth Corps

Update (March 18, 2020) – Due to our current state and national emergency, and the uncertainty surrounding the remaining school year, we are canceling all Ecology Youth Corps 2020 summer litter crew operations for teens 14-17. We look forward to receiving application next year. The application period will open February 1, 2021.

Check back here later this spring for information about possible opportunities to serve on one of our adult litter crews.

Click on the map to go to contact information for your region.

State map showing Ecology's four regions with links to Ecology Youth Corps contact informationlink to Eastern Regional contact information Central Regional Office EYC contact info Northwest Regional Office EYC contact info Southwest Regional office contact info

Central region contacts

Rod Hankinson
Central Region Litter Administrator
rodney.hankinson@ecy.wa.gov
509-454-7209

Monica Martinez
EYC Assistant
monica.martinez@ecy.wa.gov
509-454-7873


Eastern region contacts

Laurie Dahmen
Eastern Region Litter Administrator
laurie.dahmen@ecy.wa.gov
509-329-3506

Lynette Kuehl
EYC Assistant
lynette.kuehl@ecy.wa.gov
509-329-3434​


Northwest region contacts

Steven Williams
Northwest region litter administrator
steven.williams@ecy.wa.gov
425-649-7048

Sarah Elledge
EYC assistant
sarah.elledge@ecy.wa.gov
425-649-7029


Southwest region contact

Ariona
Southwest Region Litter Administrator
ariona@ecy.wa.gov
360-407-6351


More information on working with EYC


2019 results

EYC crews worked 76,131 hours (totals include spring and fall median crews):

  • Picking up 1,213,250 pounds of litter
  • Recycling 102,253 pounds of litter collected
  • Cleaning 4,853 miles of road