State Emergency Response Commission

The Washington State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) contains representatives from state agencies, local agencies, and private industries. Ecology, Washington State Patrol, and the Military Department have specific responsibilities under Chapter 118-40 WAC.

The SERC was established to:
  • Implement the provisions of Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA).
  • Designate and oversee Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs).
  • Facilitate preparation and implementation of emergency planning and preparedness.

Tribal nations

Tribal nations have the same responsibilities as states under EPCRA. Some tribes have established their own Tribal Emergency Response Commissions, while others have opted to enter into agreements with their neighboring Local Emergency Planning Committees.

Additional information on SERC activities is available from the Military Department.

SERC membership list

Select from the following sections to view member information listed by agency, association, or industry.

Support staff